Nutritious Life

Brining Nutrition to Daily Life

Broccoli March 23, 2009

Filed under: All,Nutritional Information,Tid Bits — nutritiouslife12 @ 3:00 am
Tags: ,

broccoli

Levels of the beneficial, cancer-fighting compound sulforaphane in broccoli are reduced by 90 percent when the vegetable is cooked, according to a study conducted by researchers.

“Consumption of raw broccoli resulted in faster absorption, higher bioavailability, and higher peak plasma amounts of sulforaphane, compared to cooked broccoli,” the researchers wrote.

 

4 Responses to “Broccoli”

  1. Kim Says:

    whoa, 90%?! Bummer, I love to steam my broccoli, does the same apply to spinach?

  2. nutritiouslife12 Says:

    I do not believe so. I will do a short one on spinach too 🙂

  3. That is a downer. I’ve also heard though that raw broccoli is tougher for the human body to digest than cooked. Any thoughts on that?

  4. nutritiouslife12 Says:

    I haven’t heard that raw broccoli is tougher for the body to digest. If I find any info on that I will let you know!


Leave a Reply

